Home » University For Development Studies

University For Development Studies

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 826 other followers

uds

University For Development Studies

Established in May 1992 by the Government of Ghana to “blend the academic world with that of the community in order to provide constructive interaction between the two for the total development of Northern Ghana, in particular, and the country as a whole” (PNDC Law 279, Section 279).

“The UDS was borne out of the new thinking in higher education which emphasizes the need for universities to play a more active role in addressing problems of the society, particularly in the rural areas” (Effah, 1998).

The University by its mandate and constituency has a pro-poor focus. This is reflected in its methodology of teaching, research and outreach services. The specific emphasis on practically-oriented, research and field-based training is aimed at contributing towards poverty reduction in order to accelerate national development:

It began academic work in September 1993 with the admission of forty (40) students into the Faculty of Agriculture, (FoA), Nyankpala.

The Faculty of Integrated Development Studies, (FIDS), Faculty of Planning and Land Management (FPLM), School of Business and Law, Wa, Faculty of Education (FoE), and School of Medicine and Health Sciences (SMHS), Tamale, Faculty of Renewable Natural Resources (FRNR), Faculty of Agriculture (FoA) and the Faculty of Agribusiness and Communication Sciences (FACS), Nyankpala, Faculty of Applied Sciences (FAS), Faculty of Mathematical Sciences(FMS), Navrongo and the Graduate School now in Tamale were phased in from 1994 to date.

Vision

The University is envisaged to be a Home of World Class Pro-Poor Scholarship. This is reflected in its motto: “Knowledge for Service” as well as its methodology of teaching, research and outreach programmes.

 

Mission

The UDS seeks to achieve its vision by:

  1. Promoting equitable and socio-economic transformation of communities through practically oriented, community based, problem solving, gender sensitive and interactive research, teaching, learning and outreach activities.
  2. Providing higher education to persons suitably qualified for and capable of benefiting from it.
  3. Positioning itself as a national asset in the facilitation of lifelong learning.
  4. Developing its information and communication technology infrastructure as the driving force for the education of more people, more rapidly and the improvement of efficiency and academic quality in order to advance community and national development

CONTACT US

Postal Address

Post Office Box TL 1350
Tamale, Ghana
Telephone: + 233-3720-22078, 26633, 26634 
E-mail: registrar@uds.edu.gh
Website: uds.edu.gh 

Accra Office

PMB CT 346, Cantonments
Accra, Ghana
Telephone: +233 (0) 302-786300

Vice Chancellor’s Office

Office of the Vice Chancellor
University for Development Studies
Post Office Box TL 1350
Tamale
E-mail: vc@uds.edu.gh

Vice Chancellor

Prof. Teye
gabriel.teye@uds.edu.gh

Pro-Vice Chancellor’s Office

Office of the Pro-Vice Chancellor
University for Development Studies
Post Office Box TL 1350
Tamale
E-mail: provc@uds.edu.gh

Pro-Vice Chancellor

Prof. Seidu Al-hassan
alseidu@uds.edu.gh 

Registrar’s Office

Office of the Registrar
University for Development Studies
Post Office Box 
TL 1350
Tamale
E-mail: registrar@uds.edu.gh

Registrar

Dr. A. B. T. Zakariah
registrar@uds.edu.gh

Finance Directorate

The Finance Directorate
University for Development Studies
Post Office Box 
TL 1350
Tamale
E-mail: finance@uds.edu.gh

The Director

Mr. Shaibu Mohammed Hardi
mhardi@uds.edu.gh

Academic Affairs

Academic Affairs
University for Development Studies
Post Office Box 
TL 1350
Tamale
E-mail: academicaffairs@uds.edu.gh

Senior Assistant Registrar

Nurudeen Issah Abubakar
anurudeen@uds.edu.gh 

ICT Directorate

ICT Directorate
University for Development Studies
Post Office Box 
TL 1350
Tamale
E-mail: ictd@uds.edu.gh

Ag. ICT Director

Mr. Boniface Atosona
boniface.atosona@uds.edu.gh

Works and Physical Development

Works and Physical Development
University for Development Studies
Post Office Box 
TL 1350
Tamale
E-mail: wpd@uds.edu.gh

The Director

Ing. Samuel Abiko
sabiko@uds.edu.gh

Public Relations

University Relations
University for Development Studies
Post Office Box 
TL 1350
Tamale
E-mail: prs@uds.edu.gh

The PRO

Sauda Belko- Sulemanah
sbelko@uds.edu.gh

Human Resource Directorate

Human Resource
University for Development Studies
Post Office Box 
TL 1350
Tamale
E-mail: personnel@uds.edu.gh

The Director

Dr. Iddrisu Mahamadu Tanko
middrisu@uds.edu.gh

Internal Audit Directorate

Internal Audit
University for Development Studies
Post Office Box 
TL 1350
Tamale
E-mail: audit@uds.edu.gh

The Director

Mr. Azure John
aazure@uds.edu.gh

UDS International

UDS International
University for Development Studies
Post Office Box 
TL 1350
Tamale
E-mail: international@uds.edu.gh

The Director

Prof. Gordana Kranjac-Berisavljevic
kgordana@uds.edu.gh

%d bloggers like this: